القوامة والولاية

                                                           صورة: Flickr/Ahron de Leeuw

مساواة تطلق مبادرة بناء معرفة متعددة الأوجه، وفارقة، حول سلطة الرجل في التراث الفقهي الإسلامي

تركز مبادرة بناء المعرفة حول القوامة والولاية، التي تستمر على مدى خمس سنوات، على مفهومي القوامة والولاية، اللذين يفهم منهما، في العادة، فرض سلطة الرجل على المرأة. هذان المهفومان، كما فسرهما وشادهما التراث الفقهي الإسلامي، وكما طبقتهما القوانين والممارسات الحديثة، يلعبان دورًا محوريًا في مأسسة وتبرير وإدامة النموذج البطريركي للأسرة في سياقات المسلمين. كذلك يفترض الزواج، في التراث الفقهي الإسلامي، عملية تبادلية: طاعة المرأة وتمكينها الزوج من نفسها في مقابل النفقة والحماية من الزوج.

هذه العلاقة النظرية، التي ما زالت تستند إليه، حتى اليوم، العديد من مواد قانون الأسرة في سياقاتنا كمسلمين، نتج عنها عدم مساواة في مسائل مثل الأمان المالي، والحق في الطلاق، والوصاية والولاية، والاختيار والرضا في الزواج، والصحة والحقوق الجنسية والإنجابية، والمواريث، وقوانين الجنسية.

عدم المساواة هذه تتناقض مع المبادئ الأخلاقية الأساسية في الإسلام كما عبر عنها القرآن الكريم. هذا فضلاً عن أنها تتصادم مع المفاهيم المعاصرة للمبادئ الإسلامية ومبادئ حقوق الإنسان، ومع الواقع الذي يشي بأن الرجل، في كثير من الأحيان، أصبح غير قادر على، أو غير راغب في، حماية أسرته والقيام على نفقتها.

آن الأوان للاعتراف بأن المرأة في كثير من الحالات تتولى الإنفاق على الأسرة وحمايتها.

وحتى نستطيع أن ننظم حملات ونناصر القوانين والممارسات التي تعزز المساواة والعدل داخل الأسرة المسلمة، فنحن نحتاج إلى معرفة ورؤى حديدة حول القوامة والولاية.

تسعى المبادرة إلى توضيح كيف أن القوانين القائمة على تفسيرات عفا عليها الزمن لهذين المفهومين، والتي تضع المرأة تحت سلطة الرجل، لم تعد تعكس عدالة الإسلام. هذا فضلاً عن أن هناك تفسيرات أخرى ممكنة، وأكثر اتساقًا مع مبادئ حقوق الإنسان والواقع المعيش المعاصر.

وقد كلفت مساواة بعض الباحثات والباحثين بكتابة أبحاث تمهيدية لهذه المبادرة، وتم نشرها في كتاب بعنوان Men in Charge? Rethinking Authority in Muslim Legal Tradition،( القوامة في التراث الإسلامي: قراءات بديلة)، تحرير زيبا مير-حسيني، ومُلكي الشرمني، وجنا رامنجر (OneWorld 2015)

ويتمثل أحد المكونات الأخرى للمبادرة في "مشروع قصص حياة من حول العالم"، والذي تقوم في إطاره فرق من الباحثات والناشطات في 10 دول (بنجلاديش، وكندا، ومصر، وجامبيا، وإندونيسيا، وإيران، وماليزيا، ونيجيريا، والفيليبين، والمملكة المتحدة) بتوثيق قصص حياة نساء، بغية الوصول إلى فهم أفضل لتجارب النساء مع القوامة والولاية. وقد تناول أحد فصول كتاب القوامة في التراث الإسلامي: قراءات بديلة المنهج المتبع في هذا المشروع وبعض نتائجه الأولية.

مزيد من المعلومات؟

- طالع(ي) عرضًا عامًا للمبادرة بالإنجليزية أو بالعربية.

- طالع(ي) مقالاً بقلم زينة أنور وزيبا مير-حسيني حول "دي. إن. إيه. البطريركية".

- طالع(ي) عرضًا عامًا لمشروع قصص حياة من حول العالم أو ملخصًا للفصل الذي تناول المشروع في كتاب 

   Men in Charge? (القوامة في التراث الإسلامي: قراءات بديلة)

- طالع(ي) المزيد عن كتاب Men in Charge? Rethinking Authority in Muslim Legal Tradition (القوامة في التراث الإسلامي: قراءات بديلة)

 

اقتني نسخة من Men in Charge? Rethinking Authority in Muslim Legal Tradition (القوامة في التراث الإسلامي: قراءات بديلة) من خلال OneWorld، أو Amazon، أو Book Depository

PrintFriendly

Printer Friendly and PDF

Qiwamah and Wilayah

Picture: Flickr/Ahron de Leeuw

Musawah has undertaken a groundbreaking, multi-faceted knowledge building initiative on male authority in Muslim legal tradition.

The five-year Knowledge Building Initiative on Qiwamah and Wilayah focuses on the concepts of qiwamah and wilayah, which are commonly understood as sanctioning men's authority over women. As interpreted and constructed in Muslim legal tradition, and as applied in modern laws and practices, these concepts play a central role in institutionalising, justifying and sustaining a patriarchal model of families in Muslim contexts. In Muslim legal tradition, marriage presumes an exchange: the wife's obedience and submission (tamkin) in return for maintenance (nafaqah) and protection from the husband.

This theoretical relationship, which still underlies many family law provisions in our contexts as Muslims today, results in inequality in matters such as financial security, right to divorce, custody and guardianship, choice and consent in marriage, sexual and reproductive health and rights, inheritance and nationality laws.

This inequality is at odds with the underlying ethical principles of Islamic as articulated in the Qur'an. It also clashes with contemporary notions of Islamic and human rights principles, and with the reality that men are often unable or unwilling to protect and provide for their families.

It's time to recognise that women often serve as the providers for and protectors of their families.

In order to campaign and advocate for laws and practices that promote equality and justice in Muslim families, we need new knowledge and perspectives on qiwamah and wilayah.

This initiative seeks to show how laws based on outdated interpretations of these concepts, which place women under male authority, no longer reflect the justice of Islam. Other interpretations are both possible and more in line with human rights principles and contemporary lived realities. 

A set of background papers commissioned for this initiative has been published as Men in Charge? Rethinking Authority in Muslim Legal Tradition, edited by Ziba Mir-Hosseini, Mulki Al-Sharmani and Jana Rumminger (OneWorld 2015).

Through the Global Life Stories Project component of the initiative, teams of researchers and activists in 10 countries (Bangladesh, Canada, Egypt, Gambia, Indonesia, Iran, Malaysia, Nigeria, Philippines, and the United Kingdom) have been documenting women's life stories to better understand women's experiences with qiwamah and wilayah. The methodology and some initial findings are presented in a chapter of Men in Charge?

Need more information?

- Read an overview of the initiative in English or in Arabic .

- Read an article written by Zainah Anwar and Ziba Mir-Hosseini on the "DNA of patriarchy".

- Read an overview of the Global Life Stories Project or a summary of the chapter on the project in Men in Charge?

- Read more about Men in Charge? Rethinking Authority in Muslim Legal Tradition.

Buy a copy of Men in Charge? Rethinking Authority in Muslim Legal Tradition via OneWorld (discount code 'MIC'), Amazon or Book Depository.

PrintFriendly

Printer Friendly and PDF