القوامة في التراث الاسلامي: قراءات بديلة

"تعج هذه الدراسات النقدية والبناءة بالحقائق والرؤى العميقة، التي توفرت على طرحها طائفة واسعة من الباحثات والمصلحات، وركزن فيها انتباهنا على البطريركية وكيف تتفاعل وتعمل داخل نصوص المسلمين وسياقاتهم، وكيف يمكن تحديها. وقد تلاقت تحليلاتهن المتمايزة في بعض الأحيان، وتناءت في أحيان أخرى، ليقُدن القارئ إلى وعي جديد بمواطن القوة العديدة في الفكر النسوي الإسلامي في القرن الحادي والعشرين."

-كيسيا علي، أستاذة مساعدة في الديانات، بجامعة بوسطن

نبذ عن المساهمات

المساهمات أكاديميات وناشطات من تخصصات وخلفيات متنوعة، جمعت بينهن مساواة. ساهمت في الكتاب: زيبا مير حسيني، وأميمة أبو بكر، وأسماء المرابط، وعائشة إس. شودري، وسعدية شيخ، ولين ولشمان، ومروة شرف الدين، ولينا لارسن، ومُلكي الشرماني، وجنا رامينجر، وآمنة ودود.

منذ انطلاقها في 2009، سعت مساواة إلى إنتاج معرفة جديدة لدعم الحركات المحلية والوطنية، خلال تطورها ومناصرتها للتغيير.

أميمة أبو بكر أستاذة الأدب الإنجليزي والأدب المقارن بجامعة القاهرة بمصر. وهي متخصصة في الشعر الصوفي في العصور الوسطى، والأدب المقارن العربي والإنجليزي في العصور الوسطى. وتشمل اهتماماتها الأكاديمية التصوف النسائي، والروحانية النسائية في المسيحية والإسلام، واللاهوت النسوي، والنساء المسلمات في التاريخ، وقضايا الجندر في الخطابات الإسلامية. وقد نشر لها العديد من المقالات بالإنجليزية والعربية عن الشعر، والنصوص الأدبية في العصور الوسطى، والتمثيل التاريخي للمرأة في مجتمعات المسلمين ما قبل الحداثة، وقضايا المرأة والجندر في النصوص الدينية، والنسوية الإسلامية. ومن أحدث ما نشر لها، كتابان قامت بتحريرهما، يجمع كل منهما عددًا من الدراسات، وهما: : Feminist and Islamic Perspectives: New Horizons of Knowledge and Reform (2013) (رؤى نسوية وإسلامية: آفاق جديدة للمعرفة والإصلاح)، والنسوية والمنظور الإسلامي (2013). فضلاً عن ذلك فهي مؤسِّسة مشاركة وعضوة في مجلس إدارة مؤسسة المرأة والذاكرة، المصرية.

عائشة إس شودري أستاذة مساعدة للدراسات الإسلامية ودراسات الجندر بقسم الدراسات الكلاسيكية ودراسات الشرق الأدنى والأديان، وبمعهد الجندر، والعرق، والجنوسة والعدالة الاجتماعية بجامعة بريتيش كولومبيا بكندا. تشمل اهتماماتها التدريسية والبحثية الشريعة الإسلامية، وتفاسير القرآن، والهرمونيطيقا (التأويل) النسوي. وهي مؤلفة كتاب Domestic Violence and the Islamic Tradition: Ethics, Law and the Muslim Discourse on Gender (2014) (العنف المنزلي والتراث الإسلامي: الأخلاق، والقانون، والخطاب الإسلامي حول الجندر). وقد درست في هذا الكتاب علاقة المسلمين المحدثين بالتراث الإسلامي الموروث، وذلك من خلال دراستها للنقاشات الفقهية والتفسيرية حول ضرب المرأة في عصور ما قبل الحداثة والعصر الحديث. وهي تعمل حاليًا في مشروع مشترك حول الهرمونيطيقا النسوية بين-العقائدية بعنوان Difficult Texts or Difficult Women? The Challenge of Scripture to Feminist Readings (نصوص عسيرة أم نساء عسيرات؟ تحدي النص المقدس للقراءات النسوية). ينظر هذا الكتاب في حدود التأويل النسوي للنصوص الدينية البطريركية، ويتحداه، في الديانات الإبراهيمية الثلاث. كذلك تعمل عائشة على تطوير أساليب لجسر الفجوة بين الأكاديمي والمجتمعي، بتحويل اهتماماتها البحثية إلى عروض مسرحية فنية قد تجتذب جمهورًا أوسع، من خلال مشروع يحمل عنوان Cover Story  (موضوع الغلاف) تعالج فيه معاني الخطابات السياسية المتعددة والمتقاطعة حول خيارات المرأة المسلمة في ملبسها.

أسماء المرابط ترأست مركز الدراسات والبحوث حول قضايا النساء في الإسلام، التابع للرابطة المحمدة للعلماء، بالمغرب، منذ إنشائه في 2008. وهي كذلك أخصائية أمراض الدم بمستشفى ابن سينا بالرباط بالمغرب. دأبت أسماء على دراسة قضايا المرأة في الإسلام منذ سنوات عديدة، وألقت محاضرات في هذا الموضوع في العديد من المؤتمرات حول العالم. وبين عامي 2004 – 2007 كانت منسقة مجموعة بحوث ودراسات حول المرأة المسلمة والحوار بين الثقافات في الرباط  فضلاً عن ذلك، فقد كانت رئيسة المجموعة الدولية للدراسات، كما نشرت لها العديد من المقالات التي تناولت فيها الإسلام وقضايا المرأة، بخلاف العديد من الكتب، منها Musulmane tout simplement (2002) (مسلمة وكفى) و Aïcha, épouse du prophète ou l’islam au feminine (2004) (عائشة زوجة الرسول أو الإسلام بصيغة المؤنث)، و Femmes et hommes dans le Coran: quelle égalité?  (النساء والرجال في القرآن: أية مساواة؟)، والذي حصلت عنه على جائزة منظمة المرأة العربية للعلوم الاجتماعية لعام 2013.

لينا لارسن، تولت منصب منسقة تحالف أوسلو بالمركز النرويجي لحقوق الإنسان بجامعة أوسلو في النرويج، منذ 1999. وكانت قد حصلت على درجة الدكتوراه عن أطروحة باللغة النرويجية بعنوان Islamic Judicial Thinking Encountering Challenges of Everyday Life: Fatwas as Proposed Solutions for Muslim Women in Western Europe (2011) (الفكر الفقهي الإسلامي في مواجهة تحديات الحياة اليومية: الفتاوى بوصفها حلولاً مقترحة للنساء المسلمات في أوروبا الغربية). كذلك شاركت في تحرير كتاب Gender and Equality in Muslim Family Law: Justice and Ethics in the Islamic Legal Tradition (2013) (الجندر والمساواة في قوانين الأسرة المسلمة: العدالة والأخلاق في التراث الفقهي الإسلامي) بالاشتراك مع زيبا مير-حسيني، وكاري فوجت، وكريستيان موي، وكذلك كتاب Directions in Islamic Thought: Exploring Reform and Muslim Tradition  (2009) (اتجاهات في الفكر الإسلامي: استكشاف الإصلاح والتراث الإسلامي). بالاشتراك مع كاري فوجت وكريستيان موي. كانت لينا، أيضًا، محررة مشاركة لكتاب Facilitating Freedom of Religion or Belief: A Deskbook (2004) (تيسير حرية التدين أو الاعتقاد: مرجع أساسي) بالاشتراك مع توري ليندهولم، ودبليو كول دورهام جونيور، وباهيا تهذيب-لي وإليزابيث سويل. وقد صدرت هذه المطبوعات جميعًا عن مشروعات لتحالف أوسلو حول حرية التدين والاعتقاد.

زيبا مير-حسيني أنثروبولوجية قانونية، متخصصة في الفقه الإسلامي، والجندر، والتنمية. وقد حصلت على بكالوريوس علم الاجتماع من جامعة طهران (1974) بإيران، وعلى دكتوراه في الأنثروبولوجيا الاجتماعية من جامعة كمبريدج (1980)، بالمملكة المتحدة. كذلك تعمل زيبا باحثة مساعدة بمركز قوانين الشرق الأوسط والفقه الإسلامي بجامعة لندن بالمملكة المتحدة، فضلاً عن حصولها على العديد من الزمالات البحثية، وقيامها بالعديد من الزيارات الأكاديمية كأستاذة زائرة، ومنها زمالة فيسنشافتشكولدج في برلين بألمانيا (2004-2005) وأستاذة زائرة Hauser Global Law بجامعة نيويورك بالولايات المتحدة (2002-2008). غير هذا وذاك فزيبا عضوة مؤسسة في حركة مساواة. ولها كذلك العديد من الكتب، منها Marriage on Trial: A Study of Islamic Family Law in Iran and Morocco (1993, 2002) (الزواج على سبيل التجربة: دراسة في قوانين الأسرة الإسلامية في إيران والمغرب)، و Islam and Gender: The Religious Debate in Contemporary Iran (1999) (الإسلام والجندر: نقاش ديني في إيران المعاصرة)، و Islam and Democracy in Iran: Eshkevari and the Quest for Reform (2006) (الإسلام والديمقراطية في إيران: إشكفاري والنضال من أجل الإصلاح) بمشاركة ريتشارد تابر، و Control and Sexuality: The Revival of Zina Laws in Muslim Contexts (2010) (السيطرة والجنوسة: إحياء قوانين الزنا في السياقات الإسلامية) بمشاركة فانجا هامزيك، كما شاركت في تحرير كتاب Gender and Equality in Muslim Family Law: Justice and Ethics in the Islamic Legal Tradition (2013) (الجندر والمساواة قي قوانين الأسرة المسلمة: العدالة والأخلاق في التراث الفقهي الإسلامي) بمشاركة كاري فوجت، ولينا لارسن، وكريستيان موي. هذا فضلا عن مشاركتها في إخراج اثنين من الأفلام الوثائقية الطويلة، حصلا على جائزتين، وهما: الطلاق على الطريقة الإيرانية (1998)، والهروب (2001).

جنا رامنجر محامية حقوق إنسان تقيم في جنوب شرق آسيا منذ 2004. وقد تركز عملها الأكاديمي وجهود مناصرتها على قضايا حقوق الإنسان، وتقاطع الجنسين، والعرق/الإثنية والدين. وشغلت عدة مناصب في مساواة منذ 2007، شملت تنسيق مشروع مساواة قبيل إطلاق الحركة في 2009، وتنسيق مبادرة بناء المعرفة حول القوامة والولاية منذ 2011. كذلك عملت جنا مع عدد من منظمات حقوق المرأة في جنوب وجنوب شرق آسيا، مثل الحركة الدولية لمراقبة حقوق المرأة، وأخوات في الإسلام، ومنظمة دعم المرأة (Women’s Aid Organisation)، وصندوق جنوب آسيا للمرأة، فضلاً عن العديد من المنظمات غير الربحية في الولايات المتحدة.

سعدية شيخ أستاذة مساعدة بقسم الدراسات الدينية بجامعة كيب تاون في جنوب أفريقيا. تتركز جهود سعدية الأكاديمية على منطقة التقاطع بين الدراسات الإسلامية ودراسات الجندر، فضلاً عن اهتمامها الخاص بالتصوف، ودلالاته بالنسبة للنسوية الإسلامية والنظرية النسوية. تشمل مجالات البحث التي تتوفر عليها: القراءة الحساسة تجاه الجندر للحديث والقرآن، والجدل النظري حول الإسلام والنسوية، والدين والعنف القائم على الجندر، فضلا ً عن مشروع إمبيريقي بعنوان "مسلمات جنوب أفريقيا، والزواج، والجندر، والجنوسة". نشر لها العديد من الكتب منها Sufi Narratives of Intimacy: Ibn Arabi, Gender and Sexuality (2012) (السردية الصوفية للحميمية: ابن عربي، والجندر، والجنوسة)، كما حررت كتاب Violence Against Women in Contemporary World Religion (2007) (العنف ضد المرأة في الأديان العالمية المعاصرة) بالاشتراك مع دان ماجواير. سعدية زوجة ولها اثنين من الأبناء، فضلا عن كونها دارسة في باوا مهايادين.

مروة شرف الدين ناشطة في مجال حقوق المرأة، تقيم في القاهرة، بمصر. حصلت على درج الدكتوراه في القانون من جامعة أوكسفورد بالمملكة المتحدة. وتشمل المجالات البحثية التي تهتم بها: الفقه الإسلامي، وقانون حقوق الإنسان الدولي، والمجتمع المدني، وحقوق المرأة. تتوفر مروة على تنظيم الحملات من أجل إصلاح قانون الأحوال الشخصية في مصر، وهي عضوة في مجلس إدارة مساواة، وستتولى منصب المديرة التنفيذية القادمة لسكرتارية مساواة بالقاهرة. كذلك شاركت في تأسيس شبكة منظمات حقوق المرأة في مصر وشبكة شباب النسويات العرب، وجمعيتي فاتحة خير ونهضة المحروسة في مصر. وقد شاركت، منذ بداية الثورة في مصر، في العديد من الجماعات النسائية والأنشطة، لمناصرة تمتع المرأة بحقوق أكبر في العملية الانتقالية، وما نتج عنها من عملية وضع دستور جديد. كذلك تقوم بجمع القصص، وتمارس الكتابة، التي تركز فيها على قضايا المرأة. نشرت لها العديد من المقالات على نطاق واسع في العديد من المطبوعات المصرية، مثل جريدتي المصري اليوم والشروق.

مُلكي الشرماني حاصلة على درجة الدكتوراه في الأنثروبولوجيا الثقافية من جامعة جونز هوبكنز بالولايات المتحدة. وهي محاضرة وباحثة زميلة بوحدة دراسات الدين، بكلية اللاهوت، جامعة هلسنكي بفنلندا. تعمل مُلكي في مشروعين بحثيين، هما: "النسوية الإسلامية: التراث، والسلطة، والهرمونيطيقا" و"زواج المسلمين العابر للقوميات في فنلندا: القانون، والجندر، والرفاه". وبين 2010-2011 كانت ملكي باحثة زميلة بكلية هلسينكي للدراسات المتقدمة، بجامعة هلسينكي. وبين 2005 - 2010 كانت باحثة مشاركة وعضوة هيئة تدريس بالجامعة الأمريكية بالقاهرة، بمصر. ملكي عضوة في مجموعة عمل مساواة لبناء المعرفة، ومنسقة مشروع قصص حياة حول القوامة والولاية. وهي محررة كتاب Feminist Activism, Women’s Rights, and Legal Reform (2013) (النشاط النسوي، وحقوق المرأة وإصلاح القوانين).

آمنة ودود، أستاذة غير متفرغة للدراسات الإسلامية، وأكاديمية زائرة بمدرسة ستار كنج فور ذي مينيستري، وهي قسم من وحدة الدراسات اللاهوتية العليا بجامعة بركلي، في كاليفورنيا بالولايات المتحدة. آمنة هي مؤلفة الكتاب الفارق Qur’an and Woman: Re-reading the Sacred Text from a Woman's Perspective (1992) (القرآن والمرأة: إعادة قراءة النص القرآني من منظور نسائي)، الذي ترجم إلى أكثر من عشر لغات. وتتبع مؤلفها التالي، Inside the Gender Jihad: Women’s Reform in Islam (2006) (داخل جهاد الجندر: الإصلاح النسائي في الإسلام) جذور دور الفقه الجندري التضميني في العمل الاجتماعي والإصلاح السياسي. تعمل آمنة منذ تقاعدها باحثة مستقلة؛ حيث كانت قد درَّست من قبل في الجامعة الإسلامية الدولية بماليزيا، وجامعة جادجاه مادا، ويوجيكارتا بإندونيسيا، وجامعة ملبورن بأستراليا، ومدرسة هارفارد للإلهيات بالولايات المتحدة، ومعهد كاليفورنيا للدراسات المتكاملة، وجامعة فيرجينيا كومنولث، وغيرها. هذا فضلاً عن كونها، حاليًا، مستشارة دولية في الإسلام والجندر وحقوق الإنسان. آمنة هي إحدى مؤسسات أخوات في الإسلام، وكثيرًا ما يستعان بها كمصدر وكمحاضرة في أنشطة مساواة لبناء المعرفة وبناء القدرات. تلقب آمنة بالسيدة الإمام نظرًا لسعيها الدائم لممارسة العدل والمساوة للمرأة المسلمة في كل جوانب حياتها: الفكرية، والروحية، والأخلاقية والسياسية. وهي كذلك أم وجدة فخورة بما لها من بنين وحفدة.

لين ولشمان أستاذة  بمدرسة الدراسات العليا للقانون بجامعة لندن بالمملكة المتحدة. وهي متخصصة في القانون والمجتمع، وقوانين الأسرة المسلمة، وحقوق المرأة، وحقوق الإنسان في الشرق الأوسط وشمال أفريقيا. مقالات ومؤلفات لين البحثية واسعة الانتشار، ومنها كتاب Women and Muslim Family Laws in Arab States: A Comparative Overview of Textual Development and Advocacy (2007) ( المرأة وقوانين الأسرة المسلمة في الدول العربية: نظرة مقارنة للتطورات السياقية والمناصرة). ومن بين الكتب التي حررتها: ‘Honour’: Crimes, Paradigms and Violence Against Women (with Sara Hossain, 2005) (جرائم الشرف، الأنماط والعنف ضد المرأة) بمشاركة سارة حسين، و Women’s Rights and Islamic Family Law: Perspectives on Reform (2004) (حقوق المرأة وقانون الأسرة الإسلامي: رؤى للإصلاح). وقبل انضمامها إلى هيئة التدريس بمدرسة الدراسات العليا للقانون، عملت لين في مجال حقوق الإنسان، مع منظمات حقوقية فلسطينية في الضفة الغربية بشكل أساسي، وكذلك مع منظمات حقوق إنسان دولية، معظمها في الشرق الأوسط. وهي عضوة مجلس إدارة المؤسسة الأورو-متوسطية لدعم المدافعين عن حقوق الإنسان، ومحررة مشاركة لـ Muslim World Journal of Human Rights  (مجلة حقوق الإنسان في العالم الإسلامي) و Oxford Islamic Legal Studies Series (سلسلة أوكسفورد للدراسات القانونية الإسلامية). وكانت لين قد أسست في 2007 عيادة حقوق الإنسان الدولية في في مدرسة الدراسات العليا للقانون.

اقتني نسخة من Men in Charge? Rethinking Authority in Muslim Legal Tradition ( القوامة في التراث الإسلامي: قراءات بديلة) من خلال OneWorld، أو Amazon، أو Book Depository

 

PrintFriendly

Printer Friendly and PDF

Men in Charge? About the Contributors

"Brimming with facts and insight, these critical and constructive essays by a global array of scholars and reformers focus our attention on how patriarchy functions in Muslim texts and contexts, and how it can be challenged. Their distinctive analyses converge and diverge, leading the reader to a new awareness of the range and power of Muslim feminist thought in the twenty-first century."

~Kecia Ali, Associate Professor of Religion, Boston University

About the Contributors

The contributors are academics and activists from varied disciplines and backgrounds who were brought together by Musawah. They are: Ziba Mir-Hosseini, Omaima Abou-Bakr, Asma Lamrabet, Ayesha S. Chaudhry, Sa'diyya Shaikh, Lynn Welchman, Marwa Sharafeldin, Lena Larsen, Mulki Al-Sharmani, Jana Rumminger and Amina Wadud.

Since its launch in 2009, Musawah has sought to produce new knowledge to support local and national movements as they develop and advocate for change.

 

Omaima Abou Bakr is a Professor of English and Comparative Literature at Cairo University, Egypt. She specializes in medieval Sufi poetry and comparative topics in medieval English and Arabic literature. Her scholarly interests also include women’s mysticism and female spirituality in Christianity and Islam, feminist theology, Muslim women’s history, and gender issues in Islamic discourses. She has published a number of articles in both English and Arabic on poetry and medieval literary texts, historical representations of women in pre-modern Muslim societies, women and gender issues in religious texts, and Islamic feminism. Her most recent publications are two edited volumes of collected articles: Feminist and Islamic Perspectives: New Horizons of Knowledge and Reform (2013) and al-Niswiyyah wa al-Manzur al-Islami (2013). Omaima is also a co-founder and Board member of the Egyptian NGO Women and Memory Forum.

Ayesha Chaudhry is Assistant Professor of Islamic Studies and Gender Studies in the Department of Classical, Near Eastern and Religious Studies and the Institute for Gender, Race, Sexuality and Social Justice at the University of British Columbia, Canada. Her teaching and research interests include Islamic law, Qur'anic exegesis and feminist hermeneutics. She is the author of Domestic Violence and the Islamic Tradition: Ethics, Law and the Muslim Discourse on Gender (2014). This book explores the relationship of modern Muslims to the inherited Islamic tradition through a study of legal and exegetical discussions of wife-beating in the pre-modern and modern periods. Currently, she is working on a collaborative project of inter-faith feminist hermeneutics entitled Difficult Texts or Difficult Women? The Challenge of Scripture to Feminist Readings, which explores and challenges the limits of feminist interpretations of patriarchal religious texts in the three Abrahamic faiths. Ayesha is also developing methods of bridging the academic and community divide by translating her research interests into theatre-based performance art that might appeal to a wider audience. This project is entitled Cover Story and explores the meanings of multiple intersecting political discourses surrounding Muslim women’s sartorial choices.

Asma Lamrabet has been the director of the Research Center on Women’s Studies in Islam of Rabita Mohammadia des Oulémas in Morocco since its founding in 2008. She is also a haematologist at Avicenna Hospital in Rabat, Morocco. She has been studying women’s issues in Islam for many years and has delivered lectures on this topic at various conferences around the world. From 2004–7, she was the coordinator of a research and reflection group on Muslim women and intercultural dialogue in Rabat, Morocco. She was the president of GIERFI (International Group of Studies and Reflection on Women and Islam) and is currently a member of its Board of Directors. She is also the author of many articles tackling Islam and women’s issues, as well as other numerous books, such as: Musulmane tout simplement (2002); Aïcha, épouse du prophète ou l’islam au feminine (2004); and Femmes et hommes dans le Coran: quelle égalité? (2012), for which she received the Arab Woman Organization award in social sciences in 2013.

Lena Larsen has been the coordinator of the Oslo Coalition at the Norwegian Center for Human Rights, University of Oslo, Norway, since 1999. She obtained her PhD with a thesis on Islamic Judicial Thinking Encountering Challenges of Everyday Life: Fatwas as Proposed Solutions for Muslim Women in Western Europe (in Norwegian, 2011). She co-edited Gender and Equality in Muslim Family Law: Justice and Ethics in the Islamic Legal Tradition (with Ziba Mir-Hosseini, Kari Vogt and Christian Moe, 2013) and New Directions in Islamic Thought: Exploring Reform and Muslim Tradition (with Kari Vogt and Christian Moe, 2009), and was an associate editor of Facilitating Freedom of Religion or Belief: A Deskbook (with Tore Lindholm, W. Cole Durham Jr., Bahia Tahzib-Lie and Elizabeth Sewell, 2004). These publications are a result of projects of the Oslo Coalition on Freedom of Religion or Belief.

Ziba Mir-Hosseini is a legal anthropologist, specializing in Islamic law, gender and development. She has a BA in Sociology from Tehran University (1974) in Iran and a PhD in Social Anthropology from University of Cambridge (1980), United Kingdom. A Professional Research Associate at the Centre for Middle Eastern and Islamic Law, University of London, United Kingdom, she has held numerous research fellowships and visiting professorships, including Fellow of the Wissenschaftskolleg zu Berlin, Germany (2004–5), and Hauser Global Law Visiting Professor at New York University, United States (2002–8). She is a founding member of Musawah. Ziba’s publications include Marriage on Trial: A Study of Islamic Family Law in Iran and Morocco (1993, 2002); Islam and Gender: The Religious Debate in Contemporary Iran (1999); Islam and Democracy in Iran: Eshkevari and the Quest for Reform (with Richard Tapper, 2006); and Control and Sexuality: The Revival of Zina Laws in Muslim Contexts (with Vanja Hamzic, 2010). She co-edited Gender and Equality in Muslim Family Law: Justice and Ethics in the Islamic Legal Tradition (with Kari Vogt, Lena Larsen and Christian Moe, 2013). She has also co-directed two award-winning feature-length documentary films on Iran: Divorce Iranian Style (1998) and Runaway (2001). 

Jana Rumminger is a human rights lawyer who has been based in Southeast Asia since 2004. Her scholarship and activism have focused on human rights issues at the intersection of gender, race/ethnicity and religion. She has worked with Musawah in a variety of roles since 2007, including coordinating the project in the lead up to the 2009 launch and coordinating the Knowledge Building Initiative on Qiwamah and Wilayah since 2011. She has also worked with a number of women’s rights organisations in South and Southeast Asia, such as International Women's Rights Action Watch Asia Pacific, Sisters in Islam, Women's Aid Organisation and South Asia Women’s Fund, as well as several non-profit organizations in the United States. 

Sa’diyya Shaikh is Associate Professor in the Department of Religious Studies at the University of Cape Town, South Africa. Working at the intersection of Islamic Studies and Gender Studies, she has a special interest in Sufism and its implications for Islamic feminism and feminist theory. Her areas of research include gender-sensitive readings of hadith and Qur’an; theoretical debates on Islam and feminism; religion and gender-based violence; and an empirical project entitled ‘South African Muslim Women, Marriage, Gender and Sexuality’. Her published books include Sufi Narratives of Intimacy: Ibn Arabi, Gender and Sexuality (2012) and Violence Against Women in Contemporary World Religion (co-edited with Dan Maguire, 2007). Sa’diyya is married, a mother of two, and a student of Bawa Muhaiyaddeen.

Marwa Sharafeldin is a women’s rights activist based in Cairo, Egypt. She has a PhD in Law from the University of Oxford, United Kingdom. Her research covers Islamic law, international human rights law, civil society and women’s rights. She is a campaigner for the reform of personal status laws in Egypt and a board member of Musawah, and is Musawah’s upcoming Executive Director for its Cairo-based Secretariat. She is also co-founder of an Egyptian network for women’s rights organisations and of the Young Arab Feminist Network, as well as NGOs Fat’het Kheir and Nahdet el-Mahrousa in Egypt. Since the beginning of the Egyptian revolution she has been involved in several women’s groups and activities to advocate for better women’s rights in the transitional process and the ensuing constitutional-drafting processes. Marwa is also a story collector and a writer. Her writings, which focus on women's issues, have been published in widely circulated Egyptian publications such as Al-Masry Al-Youm and Al-Shorouk newspapers.

Mulki Al-Sharmani holds a doctorate degree in cultural anthropology from Johns Hopkins University, United States. Since September 2013, she has been a lecturer and a research fellow at the Faculty of Theology, Study of Religion Unit, University of Helsinki, Finland, working on two research projects: ‘Islamic Feminism: Tradition, Authority, and Hermeneutics’ and ‘Transnational Muslim Marriages in Finland: Law, Gender, and Wellbeing’. From 2010–11, Mulki was a research fellow at Helsinki Collegium for Advanced Studies, University of Helsinki. From 2005–10, she was a joint research–teaching faculty member at the American University in Cairo, Egypt. Mulki is a member of Musawah Knowledge Building Working Group, and coordinated the Life Stories Project on Qiwamah and Wilayah. She is the editor of Feminist Activism, Women’s Rights, and Legal Reform (2013).

Amina Wadud is Professor Emeritus of Islamic Studies and Visiting Scholar at the Starr King School for the Ministry, part of the Graduate Theological Union, in Berkeley, California, USA. She is author of the groundbreaking Qur’an and Woman: Re-reading the Sacred Text from a Woman's Perspective (1992), now translated into over a dozen languages. Her follow up publication, Inside the Gender Jihad: Women’s Reform in Islam (2006), traces the route of gender-inclusive theology into social action and policy reform. Since her retirement she has been acting as an independent scholar, having previously taught at International Islamic University, Malaysia; Gadjah Mada University, Yogyakarta, Indonesia; University of Melbourne, Australia; and in the United States at Harvard Divinity School, California Institute for Integral Studies and Virginia Commonwealth University, amongst others. In addition, she is currently an international consultant on Islam, gender and human rights. One of the founders of Sisters in Islam, Amina frequently serves as a resource person for Musawah knowledge building and capacity building activities. She is known as the Lady Imam for her efforts to live justice and equality for Muslim women in all aspects of her life: intellectual, spiritual, moral and political. She is also a proud mother and grandmother.

Lynn Welchman, a Professor at the SOAS School of Law, University of London, United Kingdom, specialises in law and society, Muslim family laws, women’s rights and human rights in the Middle East and North Africa. She has published widely in her research areas, including the book Women and Muslim Family Laws in Arab States: A Comparative Overview of Textual Development and Advocacy (2007). Her edited volumes include Honour’: Crimes, Paradigms and Violence Against Women (with Sara Hossain, 2005) and Women’s Rights and Islamic Family Law: Perspectives on Reform (2004). Prior to joining the SOAS staff in 1997, she worked in human rights, primarily with Palestinian human rights NGOs in the West Bank, but also with international human rights organisations, mostly in the Middle East. She is a Board member of the Euro-Mediterranean Foundation for the Support of Human Rights Defenders and a founding co-editor of the Muslim World Journal of Human Rights and the Oxford Islamic Legal Studies Series. In 2007 she established the International Human Rights Clinic in the SOAS School of Law. 

Buy a copy of Men in Charge? Rethinking Authority in Muslim Legal Tradition via OneWorld (discount code 'MIC'), Amazon or Book Depository.

PrintFriendly

Printer Friendly and PDF