تكريمًا لفاطمة المرنيسي

Submitted by Musawah on Thu, 03/03/2016 - 12:26
image

تكريم فاطمة المرنيسي

بقلم زيبا مير-حسيني

فبراير/شباط2016

"هناك سنوات تطرح الأسئلة وسنوات تجيب عليها." ~ من كتاب

Their Eyes Were Watching God, Zora Neale Hurston (كانت عيونهم تراقب الرب، زورا نيالي هرستون).

كما خطط القدر، كان يوم مغادرة فاطمة المرنيسي لهذا العالم، هو اليوم الذي كانت تنظم فيه مساواة دورة بناء القدرات – الإسلام والعدالة والمساواة بين الجنسين أي – إنجيج (I-nGEJ، تنطق بالإنجليزية 'I engage' أي أنخرط). كان ذلك يوم الأحد 30 نوفمبر/تشرين الثاني 2015، ثاني أيام الدورة، وكنا في دار الداية، التي لا تبعد سوى مسيرة ساعة بالسيارة عن الرباط. وصلنا الخبر قرب الظهيرة، أثناء جلسة آمنة ودود حول "قراءة القرآن من أجل الجندر: النص والسياق"، التي كانت تيسرها زينة. كانت تلك أول مرة تزور فيها آمنة المغرب، وكانت تتوق للالتقاء بفاطمة للمرة الأولى، بعد أن استطاعت أسماء المرابط أن ترتب لقاء بينهما على الغداء، ولكن فاطمة كان قد أقعدها المرض فلم تستطع الحضور، ولم تكن هناك فرصة لترتيب موعد آخر للقاء، حيث كان على أسماء أن تسافر لارتباطات لها، وكان على آمنة أن تغادر أيضًا قبل نهاية الدورة. لم يكتب لهما الالتقاء أبدًا.

 غادرت أسماء الرباط يوم وفاة فاطمة. وفي الخامس من ديسمبر/كانون الأول، آخر أيام الدورة، بعثت إلينا بهذه الرسالة على البريد الإلكتروني من لشبونة:

أردت فقط أن أطلعكم على آخر كلمات سمعتها من فاطمة عبر الهاتف، وهي تعتذر عن عدم حضور الغداء مع آمنة... قالت "قولي لها إنها رائدة وأن مساواة هي المستقبل." كان صوتها يتهدج ضعفًا، وكانت تعاني، ولكن لم يفارقها الأمل في المستقبل... رحمها الله.

عندما كنت أعد هذا المقال تكريمًا لها، وقعت عيني على عبارة من رواية للكاتبة الأمريكية من أصل أفريقي زورا نيالي هرستون، صدرت سنة 1937، تقول فيها: "هناك سنوات تطرح الأسئلة وسنوات تجيب عليها." فشعرت أن تلك الكلمات تعبر عن مرتحلتين في كتابات فاطمة المرنيسي حول قضايا الإسلام والجندر. مرحلتان شكلتا الرحلة التي تشاركت فيها بعضنا معها (رغم عدم تزامن تلك المشاركة عند الجميع) وجمعتانا معًا في مساواة.

مع فاطمة ونسويات مسلمات رائدات في الرباط (2015)

نشر أول كاتب فاطمة المرنيسي Beyond the Veil: Male-Female Dynamics in Muslim Society (ما وراء الحجاب – الجنس كهندسة اجتماعية) سنة 1975، واعتمد على الرسالة التي كانت قد أعدتها لنيل درجة الدكتوراه. تناولت فاطمة في الجزء الأول من الكتاب ما أسمته "التصور الإسلامي للجنسين كما يتجلى في مؤسسة الأسرة"؛ وفي الجزء الثاني ركزت على المغرب، حيث حللت " توجه التحديث كما تجسد في حصول المرأة التدريجي على الحق في التعليم وفي المنافسة على الوظائف." كان لديها جديدٌ تضيفه، فجاء كتابها نسيجًا ثريًا من الحجج، والتأكيدات، والملاحظات، والتبصر، استقتها جمعيًا من مصادر مختلفة، تراوحت بين قراءاتها للمصادر الإسلامية المبكرة والمعاصرة إلى النظريات السيكولوجية والسوسيولوجية، فضلاً عما لديها من دراية بالمغرب.

وقابلت بين أفكار الجنوسة في التراثين الإسلامي والمسيحي، ومختلف السبل التي تجلت فيها تلك الأفكار وصاغت شكل ومدى تبعية المرأة؛ فضلاً عن استعراضها للتوجهات والقيم المتصارعة التي كان على المسلمين التفاوض حولها والخيارات التي كانت متاحة لهم.
وتمثل الهدف الرئيسي للكتاب في إلقاء الضوء على "العلاقة بين الجنوسة والشريعة في العقل المسلم" وكيف تعززت هذه العلاقة على مدار القرن العشرين كرد فعل على الاستعمار والتدخلات الغربية. وذهبت المرنيسي إلى أن هذه العلاقة هي التي شكلت التاريخ الأيديولوجي للأسرة المسلمة، وهي التي أصبحت الآن أحد المعوقات الرئيسية أمام التنمية الاقتصادية والديمقراطية، التي لن يستطيع المسلمون تحقيقها دون إحداث تحول كبير في بنية الأسرة وأدوار الجنسين:
أريد أن أوضح أن هناك تناقضًا أساسيًا بين الإسلام كما يُفسر في السياسات الرسمية وعدم المساواة بين الجنسين. فالمساواة بين الجنسين [في نظر هذا التفسير] تنتهك المسلمات الإسلامية، والتي تتجلى في شريعته، فيصبح الحب بين الجنسين افتئاتًا على أوامر الله. الزواج الإسلامي قائم على هيمنة الرجل (صص. 18 – 19)
المرأة، في أيديولوجيا النظام الاجتماعي الإسلامي تخضع لسلطة الرجل. والله يعتبر النساء عناصر تدمير اجتماعي، وبالتالي يجب أن تكون هناك قوانين لعزلهن داخل الأسرة. وتذهب المرنيسي إلى أن تلك القوانين تخضع المرأة لسلطة الأب، والأخ، والزوج، فضلاً عن أنها تحرم المرأة – بفرضها الفصل بين الجنسين – من النفاذ المتساوي للفضاء العام، والعمل، والتعليم.
نحن هنا أمام تناقض، حيث أن الإسلام، وعلى عكس ما هو شائع، لا يعزز فرضية الدونية اللازبة للمرأة، بل على نقيض ذلك، يؤكد إمكانية المساواة بين الجنسين. أما عدم المساواة القائمة فهي لا تستند إلى نظرية أيديولوجية أو بيولوجية عن دونية المرأة، بل هي بالأحرى نتاج مؤسسات اجتماعية محددة وضعت لتقييد قوتها: وهي تحديدًا الفصل بين الجنسين، والتبعية القانونية في بنية الأسرة. كما أن تلك المؤسسات لم تنتج أيديولوجيا مقنعة ومنهجية عن دونية المرأة. فالواقع يشي بأنه لم يكن صعبًا على الحركة النسوية التي أطلقها رجال وقادها رجال أن تؤكد على الحاجة لتحرير المرأة، بما أن التراث الإسلامي يعترف بالتساوي في القدرات. فالتمجيد الديمقراطي للإنسان الفرد، بغض النظر عن جنسه، وعرقه، ووضعه الاجتماعي هو جوهر رسالة الإسلام (ص. 19؛ الخط المائل إضافة من عندي)
ولكن، إذا كان الإسلام يؤكد على إمكانية المساواة بين الجنسين، فلماذا لم ينعكس ذلك في القوانين ولا في الممارسات؟ تذهب المرنيسي إلى أن السبب في ذلك يرجع إلى كيفية تصور الجنوسة، والقوانين التي وضعت لضبطها. فالجنوسة مقدرة، وتحتاج إلى إشباعها من خلال توجيه الرغبة الجنسية في الاتجاه الصحيح، بحيث لا تحدث اضطرابًا في الأيديولوجيا المقدسة ولا في النظام الاجتماعي. وبما أن هناك تسليم بأن المرأة كائن قوي وخطر، فيجب أذن ضبطه، حيث أن جنوستها تمثل خطرًا محتملاً على النظام، فضلاً عن أنها تصرف الرجال عن طاعة الله. من هنا نلحظ العلاقة الوثيقة بين البنية السياسية السلطوية وبنية الأسرة، فإحداهما لا تستطيع أن تمارس دورها بشكل مناسب بدون وجود الأخرى. هذا هو ما يجعل المساواة بين الجنسين والحب في الزواج يمثلان تهديدًا للنظام السياسي السلطوي وللثقافة السلطوية في المجتمع المسلم.

طالع(ي) المقال كاملًا هنا (PDF)

PrintFriendly

Printer Friendly and PDF

Honouring Fatima Mernissi

Submitted by Musawah on Thu, 03/03/2016 - 12:26
image

by Ziba Mir-Hosseini

February 2016

"There are years that ask questions and years that answer." ~ from Their Eyes Were Watching God, Zora Neale Hurston

As fate would have it, the day that Fatima Mernissi left this world, Musawah was in Morocco holding one of its capacity building courses - Islam & Gender Equality and Justice (I-nGEJ, pronounced 'I engage'). It was Sunday 30 November 2015, the second day of the course; we were at Dar Eddiya, only an hour away from Rabat. The news reached us around noon, during Amina Wadud's session on "Reading for Gender in the Qur'an: Text and Context", with Zainah Anwar as facilitator. It was Amina's first visit to Morocco, and she was keen to meet Fatima for the first time. Asma Lamrabet had arranged to bring them together over lunch, but Fatima was too illl to come; there was no chance to schedule another meeting, as Asma had travel plans, and Amina was leaving before the end of the course. So they never met.

Asma had left Rabat on the day Fatima died. On 5 December, the last day of the course, she sent us this email from Lisbon:

Just wanted to share with you this last words on the phone with Fatema when she apologized for not attending the lunch with Amina... she said "tell her that she is a pioneer and Musawah is the future." With a very weak voice. She was suffering but still with hope for the future... Rahimaha Allah.

When writing this piece to honour her I came across this sentence from a 1937 novel by African-American writer Zora Neale Hurston: "There are years that ask questions and years that answer." Hurston's words captured for me what appear to be two phases in Mernissi's writings on Islam and gender issues; those phases also marked the journey that some of us shared with her (though not all at the same time) and that brought us together in Musawah.

With Fatima and leading Muslim feminists in Rabat (2015)

Mernissi's first book, Beyond the Veil: Male-Female Dynamics in Muslim Society was published in 1975. It was based on research she did for her doctoral thesis. In the first part, she explored what she called "the Muslim ideology of sexes as revealed through the institution of family"; in the second part, focusing on Morocco, she analysed "the modernizing trend as embodied in women's gradual acquisition of the right to be educated and to compete for jobs." She had something new and different to say; her book was a rich tapestry of arguments, assertions, observations and insights that she drew from different sources, ranging from her readings of early and contemporary Muslim sources to psychological and sociological theories and her own data from Morocco.

She contrasted ideas of sexuality in Muslim and Christian traditions and the different ways in which they were manifested and shaped the form and scope of women's subordination; as well as the conflicting trends and values that Muslims had to negotiate and the options open to them. The book's main aim was to throw light on "the link in the Muslim mind between sexuality and the Shari'a" and how this link was further reinforced in the course of the 20th century as a response to Western colonialism and intervention. It was this link, Mernissi argued, that shaped the ideological history of the Muslim family and has now become one of the main barriers to economic development and democracy, which Muslims cannot achieve without a major transformation of family structure and sex roles:

I want to demonstrate that there is a fundamental contradiction between Islam as interpreted in official policy and equality between the sexes. Sexual equality violates Islam's premiss, actualized in its law, that heterosexual love is dangerous to Allah's order. Muslim marriage is based on male dominance (pp. 18-19)

In Islam's ideology of women's position in the social order, women are subject to male authority. Allah considers women to be socially destructive, so there must be laws that seclude them inside the family. These laws, Mernissi argued, place women under the authority of fathers, brothers or husbands and, by mandating sexual segregation, deny women equal access to public space, to work and education.

There is a paradox here, as

[c]ontrary to what is commonly assumed, Islam does not advance the thesis of women's inherent inferiority. Quite the contrary, it affirms the potential equality between the sexes. The existing inequality does not rest on an ideological or biological theory of woman's inferiority, but is the outcome of specific social institutions designed to restrain her power: namely segregation and legal subordination in the family structure. Nor have these institutions generated a systematic and convincing ideology of women's inferiority. Indeed, it was not difficult for the male-initiated and male-led feminist movement to affirm the need for women's emancipation, since traditional Islam recognizes equality of potential. The democratic glorification of the human individual, regardless of sex, race, or status, is the kernel of the Muslim message (p. 19; emphasis added).

But if Islam affirms the potential equality of sexes, why has it neither been reflected in law nor achieved in practice? This, Mernissi argued, has to do with how sexuality has been perceived and the laws devised to regulate it. Sexuality is valued and need to be fulfilled through channeling sexual desire in the right direction, so as not to disturb the sacred ideology and the social order. Since the assumption is that women are powerful and dangerous beings, they must be controlled; their sexuality is a potential danger to order and distracts men from serving Allah. Hence, there is a close link between authoritarian political and family structures; one cannot function properly without the other. This is what makes equality between the sexes and love in marriage such a threat to authoritarian political order and culture in Muslim society.

Read the full article here (PDF).

PrintFriendly

Printer Friendly and PDF